WHS honors Advanced Placement Scholars
WHS honors Advanced Placement Scholars


Back row, L to R:  Jordan Jenkins-Frazier, Misael Perez Saldivar, Ben Ellis, Ryan Lanley, Jackie Chieng, Annaleez Fishkind

Front row, L to R:  Nancy Reyes, Rachel Klink, Brittany Skaggs, Hannah Ulrich, Jennifer Lopez, Amilya Phoeung, Salma Guzman

College Board recognizes 51 WHS students as AP Scholars 
An unprecedented 51 Washington High School students were recognized by the College Board as AP Scholars for 2014-15, according to the most recent data released last semester. 
The College Board’s AP Scholar designation recognizes high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams.  Last year, 241 Washington High School students participated in Advanced Placement, many of them in more than one AP course.  The 51 AP Scholars represent an impressive 21% of Washington High School’s students who took AP Exams. 
Three levels of AP Scholars were recognized.  Most impressive is the AP Scholar with Distinction designation, granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.  Current seniors Rachel Klink and Jennifer Lopez are to be commended for this achievement.  Each of them has taken five AP exams and are currently enrolled in AP classes this year.   
Class of 2015 graduates Kaitlin Brennan, Theora Carter, Madina Faramuzova, Luke Marino, Lily Matancillas, Abigail Morales-Encinas, Kelly Nguyen, Andy Santillan, and Lesya Yarema also achieved this distinction. 
The AP Scholar with Honor award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.  Current seniors Rachel Copeland, Ben Ellis, Teresa Nguyen, Misael Perez Saldivar, Hannah Ullrich, and Yumara Zevada excelled in this area, a tremendous achievement. 
Class of 2015 graduates Makarios Begay, Holly Berkman, Jaime Garcia-Sanchez, Matthew Gentry-DePhillips, Max Martin, Marilyn Pineda, and Mitzy Soria also earned this award. 
In order to qualify as an AP Scholar, students must receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.  Current seniors Hector Baeza, Jackie Chieng, Annaleez Fishkind, Salma Guzman Avila, Jordan Jenkins Frazier, Ryan Lanley, Amilya Phoeung, Nancy Reyes, Etiem Rivera Gonzales, and Brittany Skaggs earned this award.   
Class of 2015 graduates Silvia Delgado, Analis Fitzmier, Anarosa  Huicochea, Madisen Johnsen, Shawn Joshevama, Ephraim Lonsako, Rebecca Mark, Raul Mendoza, Frances Miranda, Carlos Rabago-Meza, Yudis Reyes Ahumada, Magaly Rincon, Kimberly Robles, Katlyn Samaniego, Thomas Sullivan, and Lazaro Torres, Jr. also achieved this level. 
“The success of our AP program is based on two factors,” noted Tami Strege, WHS principal.  “First, we have a staff dedicated to the philosophy that students can achieve at these incredibly high levels, provided they are supported and encouraged by their teachers.  Second, we have students who strive every day to reach their personal best. 
“Washington students will not let anything stand in the way of realizing their potential.”